Ode to the Roses

Ode to the roses that watched me cry

In the early hours of late December

Beside the graveside we both lie

You sat beside me as I watched you fade

But I reached out at the last moment

And grabbed you to never let go

Your roots grew, wrapping around me

Making it impossible to let go

Your thorns cut deep into my wrist

But I don’t care because you are all I have

You are all I want, all I need

It got colder and you started to fade

Holding on became more difficult

You froze over and I got cold

But i held on through everything

In the summer your thorns pierced deeper

I got tired but still refused to let go

I still hold onto you today

Even though i know your gone

I’m loyal to you

We are best friends forever

Forever…

 

One thought on “Ode to the Roses

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

